Dear Me,

Happy Valentine’s Day!

I had to make sure I didn’t forget to show you some love too, I mean you are kind of a major part of my life. Thank you for being the most dependable companion, and always taking care of me. Thank you for putting up with all of the crap I’ve hurled your way and all the times I abused you instead of cherished you. I know we may have our fair share of fights and sleepless nights, but thank you for ultimately picking me back up every single time I fall apart. Seriously, dude, I couldn’t do this without you and I don’t think I give you enough credit…in fact, I know I don’t. I’m sorry for all the times I gave praise to other people for the effort you put in. I’m especially sorry for all the times I shut you down when you tried to warn me of danger or confide in me about your struggles. I’m sorry I spent so many years minimizing your pain and putting my relationship with everyone else before ours. I know we’ve got a lot of work to do, but I promise to keep working on it because you are beyond worth it.

Thanks for being such a great friend too, and soothing me in the few moments I could hear you clearly. Thanks for always seeing the best in people, so that I could see the best in you. I know we’re growing up and things seem really scary and dark lately but thank you so much for never leaving my side and always helping me find the light again. I’ve been such a dick to you lately, I know. I’ve blamed you for everything, mostly things you had no control over, I even did the unspeakable and broke my own values by victim-blaming you when you needed me the most. I’m sorry, I really am. I promise to try harder to never repeat such an awful transgression. I also never commended you on keeping us together this long, even when giving up felt like the easier or, sometimes better, option. I know that life is tough, and there’s gonna be a lot more shit to endure in the next 50+ (hopefully) years, but we’ve made it this far and if we can do that, we can do anything. We may just be stumbling through the world without a clue what we’re doing at times, but there is no one else I would rather stumble through it with than you ❤

Sincerely,

You.

Leave a Reply

